La Crosse Public Library Home Site Index Ask a Librarian

Guide to Local History & Genealogy Resources

 
Vernon County Historical Society
Mailing Address: P. O. Box 444
Location: 410 South Center
Viroqua, WI 54665
Phone: (608) 637-7396

Web Address: www.frontiernet.net/~vcmuseum
Email: vcmuseum@frontiernet.net
Hours:  mid-May to mid-September: Tuesday-Sunday noon-4 p.m.
mid-September to mid-May: Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday noon-4 p.m.
Also open by appointment
Located in: Vernon County, Wisconsin
Return to Guide Index
Local History & Genealogy Materials Available Include the Following Types of Material. Click on a heading for more specific information about that subject.

Books & Published Material
Cemetery Indexes (Vernon County)
Census Materials
County Histories & Biographical Sketches
Local Newspapers
      Vernon County
Manuscripts & Public Record Collections
Newspaper Indexes
      Obituaries & Other Genealogical Indexes
Plat Maps & Books
Vital Records Indexes
 
BOOKS & OTHER PUBLISHED MATERIALS
Genealogy & other biographical files and books (family histories)
High school annuals
High school histories, pictures and newspaper clippings
Norwegian county history books and other history books, including: Luster, Ardal, Vik, Luster and lots more
Church histories, pictures, directories and newspaper clippings
Civil and other wars (soldier rosters, war history, etc.)
History and genealogy about other states, including Iowa & Minnesota
Many more helpful books about Wisconsin history and family history than can be listed here!
Return to Top

CEMETERY INDEXES (Vernon County)
Cemetery file of Vernon County (complete) of stones read up through 2001; index cards by surname
Cemeteries of Vernon Co. (location, history and picture only)
Cemetery stones read and filed by townships up to 1975
Hillsboro Area Cemeteries by B. Kretche
Viola and Czech National Cemetery by David Thompson

Return to Top

COUNTY HISTORIES & BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

We have many county and town histories, including materials for:
Crawford, Dane, Dunn, Green, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, La Fayette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Outagamie, Pepin, Pierce, Portage, Richland, Sauk and Winnebago counties, Wisconsin.

Settlers in Vernon County by 1850
1884 Vernon Co. History Book (indexed)
1907 Vernon Co. History/Memoirs of Vernon Co. (indexed)
1994 Vernon Co., Wisconsin Heritage (indexed)
Coon Prairie and Coon Valley history books

CENSUS
County Dates Can Copy?
Wisconsin--Federal Census Vernon County 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920 yes
Wisconsin--State Census Vernon County 1855, 1875, 1885, 1895 yes
LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Published in Vernon County
Place of Publication & Titles Dates Format Can Copy?

De Soto
   Chronicle
   Republican


1886-1899
1870-1872

microfilm

microfilm

yes

yes

LaFarge
   LaFarge Epitaph


1898-1914

microfilm








yes

 

 

 

Viroqua
   Vernon Co. Broadcaster

   Vernon Co. Censor



   Vernon Co. Leader


   Vernon Co. Northwestern Times
   Viroqua Expositor

   Viroqua Republican

1933-1936;
1944-1995
1865-1876;
1879-1885;
1890-1943;
1954-1955
1882-1889;
1894-1896;
1918-1919
1856-1865
1859;
1861-1863
1897-1911

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm

yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
Westby
   Westby Times

various
1917-1919

paper
microfilm

yes
yes

MANUSCRIPTS & PUBLIC RECORDS COLLECTIONS

picture file
Henthorn Undertaker records (Viola) (index cards)
over 200 scrapbooks in order by year
Viola City Hall (index cards)

Church Records
Bad Axe Lutheran Church
  membership, 1883-1983
  minutes, 1869-1960

Coon Valley Pontoppidan
  membership, 1879-1889

De Soto Lutheran Church
  membership, 1896-1977

Freeman Lutheran Church
  membership, 1904-1977

Northwest Prairie Lutheran Church
  membership, 1878-1900; 1878-1983
  minutes, 1879-1972

Southwest Prairie Lutheran Church
  membership, 1874-1983

West Prairie Hauge Lutheran Church
  minutes, 1859-1910

West Prairie Lutheran Church
  membership, 1858-1883
  minutes, 1881

Westby Coon Prairie Lutheran Church
  membership, 1851-1900
  minutes, 1853-1900

NEWSPAPER INDEXES

Births, Deaths, Marriages and other Genealogical Gleanings from Newspapers for Crawford, Vernon and Richland Counties, WI, 1873-1910 by Vernon D. Erickson (book)
Genealogical Gleanings from Early Newspapers for ... Crawford County, WI, 1897-1902 by Vernon D. Erickson (book)
Lutheran Messenger (index cards)
Extractions of genealogical information from many newspapers covering different time periods and subjects. Contact us for more specific information.

PLAT MAPS & BOOKS
County Dates
Crawford County 1878 (indexed), 1901-02, 1930
Monroe County 1915, 1977, 1980, 1983
Vernon County 1878 (indexed), 1896 (indexed), 1915, 1931, 1949, 1955, 1956, 1965, 1966-67, 1968, 1972, 1974, 1986-87, 1988, 2001
atlas & pictorial: 1967, 1970, 1973, 1976, 1978, 1981, 1983, 1988, 1992
we also have Sanborn Fire Insurance maps of Viroqua 1911, 1922, 1933
VITAL RECORDS INDEXES
The following indexes are on microfiche and were produced by the State Bureau of Vital Statistics:

Index to Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1984
Index to Wisconsin Divorces, 1965-1984
Index to Wisconsin Deaths, 1959-1967, 1969-1970, 1979-1984

Crawford Co. births records (eariliest to 1907)
Crawford Co. marriages (now part of Vernon Co.)
Early marriage & death records of Vernon Co.
Birth records, 1860-1877
Early Vernon Co. death records
Membership, baptisms, marriages, deaths -- Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: Crawford, Grant, Monroe, Vernon Counties, 1877-1920
Last updated: Nov. 2002

 

 


Home | Library Catalog | Read Watch or Listen | Research & Reference | Calendar of Events | Children's | Teen Connection | Local History & Genealogy| La Crosse Area Community | About the Libraries | Site Index

Main Library North Community Library South Community Library
800 Main Street 1552 Kane Street 1307 S. 16th Street
La Crosse, WI 54601 La Crosse, WI 54603 La Crosse, WI 54601
608-789-7100 608-789-7102 608-789-7103
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m.- 9 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m.
Friday-Saturday   9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 p.m.